Väinämöisenkatu 21 B 27

00100 Helsinki

Finland

Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm

·

Joonas Laurila

·

Can you introduce yourself with a few sentences?

My name is Joonas Laurila. I’m a father of 6 month old twins, runner and a book publisher. I’m currently working with my upcoming running book, which is due out in stores on September 2017.

How do you disconnect in a digital world?

For me the easiest way to disconnect is to go out for a long run and leave my phone home. Usually this is easiest to do in the Center Park of Helsinki because there I can also disconnect from any motorized vehicles. Another good way to is to play with the kids and mute your phone.

What is a fun way of spending time together with the family?

We love good food and spending time in restaurants, so we’ve been going out with the twins quite a bit. It’s so nice to see how easy it is for the whole family to enjoy a good brunch or dinner.

Is there a useful product, service or website that makes your life with kids easier?

There is a lot of helpful products that makes our life easier but to mention one, I have to say that ordering heavy and large quantities of groceries home has been super helpful for us. Its been great for planning our weekly meals and it also takes off the load from one of us parents as we do not need to go to the store.

What kids related brand do you appreciate?

Bugaboo and Adidas. Bugaboo knows how to make excellent and functional strollers and running strollers. Adidas, on the other hand, provides cool shoes and clothing.

As a parent what is your favourite indulgence?

This is easy. A date night in a really good restaurant.

A favourite party moment?

We don’t go to many parties but the biggest parties are always related to excellent food and family. The best party moment for me is our wedding party at BasBas a week after our wedding.

What do you wish people would do more often?

Close or mute their phones and spend more time with their loved ones.

What place do you want to visit and why?

New York. I’ve been in the States a couple of times but never in New York. I’d loved to go there, run a marathon and spend some time walking around and eating good food.

Do you have a tradition in your family that you are particularly fond of?

Saturday brunch. I usually run early in the morning and when I come back we go to a brunch with friends and family.

What annoys you?

That people always think that they know better what you should do.

A good piece of advice that you have kept in mind?

Even when there are times when it feels that your world is collapsing and things couldn’t get any worse, there’s always people who suffer and need more help you realize that your things are actually not that bad.

What has been a popular kids book in your family?

Our kids are still pretty young but one popular book has been ”Surfing animals”: a picture book from Asenne Surf.

What does your ASK bag contain?

The usual: Diapers, wipes, trash, milk, bottles and snacks. If I take one or both kids to work with me there’s also usually a laptop and a notebook.

How did parenthood change your life?

Quite a bit and at the same time not so much. Being a father is a best job in the world so I haven’t felt that I’ve needed to change much about my life. Of course schedules are a bit different now - it is the best thing in the world to come back home and see the kids and spend as much time with them as possible.

What is the best thing about being a parent?

That I have the chance to do the same that my parents did for me; that it lets me discover myself and create a better version of them.

How do you manage to balance your life between family, work and everything else?

Quite easily. I’m a schedule-oriented person so I like to keep things organized. And it’s also really important to take some time off every now and then and just relax by yourself or with family.

What inspires you?

People who have attained this almost mad obsession to develop their self in all aspects of life.

What is your ideal day off?

An early morning run, followed by a day with the kids. Then maybe a second workout followed by a date night with my wife.